The Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission (KADSIECOM) has announced May 15, 2021 as the date for the conduct of elections into the 23 local government areas of the state.

Announcing the election date and presenting the election timetable to the political parties in the state, the overseer of KADSIECOM in the state, Ibrahim Sambo said, “To safeguard going against the law, we are supposed to give political parties 90 days notice of election which we are doing now.

“Section 25 (1) of Kaduna State Independent Electoral Law as amended in 2018, we announce that local government elections will hold on Saturday May 15, 2021 between hours of 8am to 4pm.”

Speaking further, he said that going by the time table from yesterday (February 15) they are commencing activities with the issue of the notice. “We expect that you will also get the election guidelines to be provided to you within the week,” he said.


He added that between February 26 to March 28, conduct of party primaries to get candidates is expected to be conducted and supervised by the commission, while by Monday 8th March, 2021, political parties are expected to obtain forms from the commission’s headquarters.

Sambo also informed that 21st April 2021 is the deadline for submission of forms and list of candidates sponsored by political parties, and 21 April, 2021 for collection of nomination forms and commencement of payment by candidates of the non refundable deposit and presentation of bank tellers to the commission.

Similarly, 26th-28th April, 2021 is for verification and sorting of forms submitted by candidates, while 29th April, 2021 is for the publication of personal particulars of candidates. 2nd May, 2021 is the last date for submission of nomination forms and payments, while 3rd May, 2021 is for the publication of validly nominated candidates.

8th May 2021 is the last date for voluntary withdrawal by candidates and 13th May, 2021 last date for substitution of withdrawn candidates. 14th May 2021 is end of electioneering campaign, while 15th May 2021 is the electron day and 22nd May 2021 presentation of certificates of return while between 29th May and 5th June 2021 is for chairmanship rerun where no clear winner emerged.

The overseer stressed that only parties recognised by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will be allowed to present candidates at the polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here