The chairperson of the 2017 Local Government Election Appeal Tribunal, Justice G. M. Onyeabo, Tuesday disclosed that the tribunal has received 22 appeals from the July 22 council polls held in Lagos.

Justice Onyeabo stated this at the tribunal’s inaugural sitting which consists of four other panel members: O. Kasali; A. Onigbanjo; O. A. Dabiri and K. A. Jose.

The tribunal was inaugurated on October 23 to hear and determine the appeals in 21 days.

Justice Onyeabo said, “Accordingly, therefore, any application for enlargement of time for the doing of an act or taking a step shall not be granted in such a manner as to extend the time for the determination of the Appeal beyond the 21 days prescribed.


“To this end, the tribunal solicits for the maximum cooperation from the bar to avoid needless time wasting applications.

“The parties and learned counsel should be rest assured that this panel would be fair to all the parties and follow the rules strictly. We will have to modify our sitting because of time constraint.

“We also appeal to all that there should be no hobnobbing with members of the panel and tribunal staff, to allow us concentrate and perform this duty to the society to the best of our endeavour.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here